Sub-Saharan Africa Region

Welcome to Africa

Sub-Saharan Africa is a diverse and vibrant region encompassing the portion of the African continent situated south of the Sahara Desert. This vast area is home to an array of cultures, languages, and ecosystems, ranging from the lush rainforests of Central Africa to the arid savannas of the Sahel. Modern Sub-Saharan Africa is characterized by rapid urbanization and economic growth, alongside persistent challenges such as poverty, political instability, and health crises. Despite these hurdles, the region is marked by resilience and innovation, and the gospel is spreading rapidly across the continent.

Nations with a Foursquare presence in Africa

East Africa: Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda
Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Gabon, Guinea Equatorial, São Tomé and Príncipe.
West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea (Conakry), Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.
Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Meet the team

* For the security of our missionaries in creative access countries, some photos and full names are withheld.

Pray for our Africa workers.

Download this prayer guide and pray for our missionary workers in Africa name.

Regional Priorities

Learn more about Foursquare Missions International.